Dr. Dre Announces First Album in 15 Years, ‘Compton: A Soundtrack,’ Explains Why He Never Released Detox



15 years after the release of Dr. Dre‘s classic, 2001, the Compton native has finally announced plans for a new album, Compton: A Soundtrack. The album comes after many listeners and supporters were patiently waiting for Dre’s project, Detox. Dre made the announcement during his Beats Radio 1 station The Pharmacy, where, alongside fellow NWA member Ice Cube and Straight Outta Compton director F. Gary Gray, he additionally explained why Detox was never released. “I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good. The record, it just wasn’t good … I worked my ass off on it, and I don’t think I did a good enough job,” he explained. Compton: The Soundtrack drops on August 7th, with the film Straight Outta Compton releasing in theaters nationwide the week after. Pre-order Dr. Dre’s upcoming solo effort here and stream the Beats Radio 1 episode in its entirety here.

Compton: A Soundtrack (Tracklist)
01 “Intro”
02 “Talk About It” (Feat. King Mez & Justus)
03 “Genocide” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
04 “It’s All On Me” (Feat. Justus & BJ The Chicago Kid)
05 “All In A Day’s Work” (Feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
06 “Darkside/Gone” (Feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
07 “Loose Cannons” (Feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
08 “Issues” (Feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
09 “Deep Water” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10 Jon Connor – “One Shot One Kill” (Feat. Snoop Dogg)
11 The Game – “Just Another Day” (Feat. Asia Bryant)
12 “For The Love Of Money” (Feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13 “Satisfiction” (Feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14 “Animals” (Feat. Anderson Paak)
15 “Medicine Man” (Feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16 “Talking To My Diary”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: